New College Stamford has come a long way over the last 50 years and last week staff, governors, local councillors and the mayor celebrated the achievements and the evolution of the college campus since 1967 with the opening of its latest refurbishment – The Refectory.
Click to download our official 50th Anniversary brochure…
Stamford Technical School was actually first formed in 1895 when Queen Victoria was on the throne; at that time courses included Latin, French, shorthand, typing, cookery and dressmaking. It wasn’t until 1947 that The Education Committee recommended establishing a Technical Institute and sought to purchase 15 acres of land adjacent to Drift Road and Melbourne Road. It took a further 10 years before the land was acquired and building work completed in 1957, and the new Technical Institute opened to students aged 15 and above.
Over the last fifty years New College Stamford has educated hundreds of thousands of students, young and old, and has seen its course offer expand and change dramatically.
Janet Meenaghan Principal of New College Stamford said, “The college has a great reputation and so much potential. My job is to harness that potential and take the college on to even greater things – securing the college as an outstanding provider of education in Lincolnshire.’’
- In the 1960s the college campus was round 4,500 sqm. Today the New College Stamford boasts a massive 15,734 sqm of facilities.
- In 1979, computing courses began, following the purchase of two computers at the cost of £5,000 each! Today the IT department houses more that 1,500 computers and an additional 200 Mac computers with students often being completed and filed us iPads.
- In 1978 the number of students had risen by 57% in just 2 years, with 645 students attending full time courses. Today the college has around 4,500 students enrolled on full-time and part-time courses including apprenticeships and university level courses.
THE LAST DECADE IS THE MOST SIGNIFICANT OF ALL!
2012: Official opening of a new extension which includes a brand-new reception area, bistro and conference centre. These were followed by the opening of Inspire Hair and Beauty Salons the same year!
2014: Borderville Sports Centre, also home to Stamford AFC, officially opens! The centre boasts state-of-the-art facilties for Sports, Football Academy and Public Service students.
|2016:||1. £3.7 million Construction and Automotive Skills Centre was opened to replicate trade workshops and offer professional tools and equipment found in industry.|
|2. After successfully providing Higher Education qualifications such as Foundation Degrees, HNCs and HNDs for over 20 years, the college opens its dedicated university centre, University Centre Stamford.|
|3. The Library received a £210,000 refurbishment during the summer of 2016 and was officially opened by Mayor Cllr Tony Story in November.|
|4. Popular coffee chain Starbucks Café opened in the Bistro.|
OPENING OF THE COLLEGE’S BRAND-NEW REFECTORY! In celebration of the 50th anniversary, the refectory is another in a long list of improvements to the college’s facilities to benefit students’ learning experience. The refectory great space for students meet up with friends, grab some food, study and relax before their next lesson starts.